Blue textured background

Lifetime Achievement Award

On the occasion of the 20th Annual Meeting, NASTAD began giving a Lifetime Achievement Award, given to the person who has dedicated their career to addressing the HIV/AIDS and/or viral hepatitis epidemics in state government and shown exemplary leadership in the fight against HIV/AIDS and viral hepatitis through their work in state government and with NASTAD.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2022: Susan Jones, RN, MN, HIV/STD Program Manager, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
  • 2018: Peter Whiticar, Chief, STD/AIDS Prevention Branch, Hawaii Department of Health
  • 2017: Paul Loberti, Administrator Medical Services, Executive Office of Health and Human
  • Services (Rhode Island)
  • 2016: Pat Young, HIV & Hepatitis Prevention Program Manager, Iowa Department of Public Health
  • 2015: Wendy Craytor, former Alaska AIDS Director and founding NASTAD member (posthumously)
  • 2013: John Auerbach, former Massachusetts AIDS Director and founding NASTAD member, Director of Institute on Urban Health Research, Northwestern University
  • 2012: Jim Vergeront, MD, Director of the Wisconsin AIDS/HIV Program
  • 2011: Humberto Cruz, Director of the New York State AIDS Institute